Olympic track race in Tokyo: Italy wins gold with Denmark in the team pursuit and world record in the men’s thriller


Olympics – Yolo BedTime

“],” filter “: {” nextExceptions “:” img, blockquote, div “,” nextContainsExceptions “:” img, blockquote “}}”>

Get access to everything we publish when you> “,” name “:” in-content-cta “,” type “:” link “}}”> sign up for Outside +.

On the third day of the Olympic track program in Tokyo, further records fell.

Italy narrowly won the gold medal in a Team Pursuit and set a new world record with 3: 42.032. The Italian four narrowly beat the world champion Denmark, who took the silver medal. Australia took bronze after winning silver at the Rio Games.

There was also a batch of qualifying laps on the third day on the Izu circuit. In the women’s Keirin race, Maddie Godby (USA) reached the quarter-finals on Thursday, as did the Canadians Kelsey Mitchell and Lauriane Genest.

The Canadians had less luck in the individual sprint, neither Nick Wammes nor Hugo Barrette made it into the races on Thursday.

Team Pursuit Final

The Italian team broke their own world record and won gold. Photo: Justin Setterfield / Getty Images

It was an exciting clash of the titans in the gold medal final between Italy and Denmark.

In any case, Italy took the lead before the race. Denmark stacked the afterburners up to kilometer three in order to pull out a strong deficit that only seemed insurmountable for the Italian trio to celebrate a dramatic comeback in the last 500 meters and take gold.

The Italian team lapped the track in almost disbelief before roaring for a new world record of 3: 42.032 and a victory less than 0.2 seconds before triumph. At the 2016 Games, the team finished sixth.

There was a dramatic fall in the bronze medal final between New Zealand and Australia.

The fourth Kiwi driver in the formation touched the wheels with the driver in front and hit the boards hard in the middle of the race. The last three of the New Zealand team soon lost structure and dropped their last man, forcing them to slow down, reform, opening the door for Australia to claim the bronze medal. The fallen driver was without serious injuries.

Canada shot out of the gate quickly but soon lost a driver in the race with Germany for fifth place. Michael Foley, Derek Gee and Jay Lamoureux’s final three stayed strong to take the win and set a new national record with a time of 3: 46.324.

Britain put Tuesday’s drama to bed to beat Switzerland to seventh place in their round.

Team Pursuit Final:

  1. Italy (gold)
  2. Denmark (silver)
  3. Australia (bronze)

Keirin Qualification and Women’s Reunion

Maddie Godby (USA) made it into Thursday’s races.

US track star Maddie Godby and the Canadian Lauriane Genest both came through their race after a one-two victory in the six-driver hot, which they both started. You will play in the quarter-finals on Thursday.

17-time national champion Maddie Godby competes against the world’s best keirin racers from the country that invented the sport.

See this insanely fast and hectic race tonight at 3:30 ET on @NBCOlympics! https://t.co/hhEq1hw7pW…#RideToTokyo #TokyoOlympics #WeChampionCycling pic.twitter.com/LJdpor7PtA

– USA Cycling (@usacycling) August 4, 2021

There was a surprise when the reigning Keirin World Champion Emma Hinze from Germany could not qualify through her round and had to compete in the hope runs (second chance rounds). Hinzes Heat was won convincingly by Canadian Kelsey Mitchell.

Hinze promptly took second place in her repechage and made it to the quarter-finals on Thursday.

Hong Kong racer and top favorite Lee Wai Sze was similarly surprised when she was forced into battle of hope, but bounced back to win her last race and advance to the next lap. Kaarle McCulloch (Australia) was another top contender who had put an extra race on her feet in order to prevail with qualifying in the battle of hope for Thursday’s races.

Meanwhile, GB’s Katy Marchant also had to prevail in the Battle of Hope, although she won her run after dismounting to enter the sprinter track when a competitor was already there.

Keirin quarter-finals (Thursday)

Heat 1:

  • Marchant (GBR)
  • Hinze (GER)
  • Lee (HKG)
  • Van Riesen (NED)
  • Schmelewa (ROC)
  • Starikova (UKR)

Heat 2:

  • Gen (CAN)
  • Gross (FRA)
  • Friedrich (GER)
  • Gaxiola Gonzales (MEX)
  • Brass Penninckx (NED)
  • Andrews (NZL)

Heat 3:

  • Godby (USA)
  • McCulloch (AUS)
  • Mitchell (CAN)
  • Zhong (CHN)
  • Kobajashi (JAP)
  • Bass (UKR)

Sprint qualification and men’s repechage race

Jeffrey Hoogland fought his way through the first sprint laps. Photo: PETER PARKS / AFP via Getty Images

The popular Dutch duo Jeffrey Hoogland and Harrie Lavreysen led the sprint qualification, drove the same time in the Flying 200 and then won their next laps.

Canadians Nick Wammes and Hugo Barrette also made it through the first qualifying round. Wammes prevailed in his 1:32 final against the German Stefan Boetticher and advanced to the next round, but was beaten in the 1/16 final. He has not survived the glimmer of hope and is out of the competition.

Barrette was forced into the battles of hope in the 1/32 and did not get any further from there either.

Leading contender and Olympic powerhouse Jason Kenny (Great Britain) won his 1:32 final and advanced to the next round. The Brit held back a surprising late 1/16 lap attack by home favorite Yuta Wakimoto to fight his way through to Thursday’s races and keep his hopes for a third record gold medal alive.

Wakimoto made it to the round of 16 and kept Japan’s hopes alive.

Men’s Sprint 1/32 Final ✅

# Rio2016 defending champion Jason Kenny won his prelim to automatically qualify for the 1/16 finals. # Tokyo2020 | #Cycle route | #Olympia

– UCI track cycling (@UCI_Track) August 4, 2021

Men’s Sprint 1/8 Final (Thursday):

  • Jeffrey Hoogland (NED) versus Mohd Asisulhasni Awang (MAS)
  • Harrie Lavreysen (NED) versus Muhammad Shah Firdaus Sahrom (MAS)
  • Jack Carlin (GBR) versus Sebastian Vigier (FRA)
  • Nicholas Paul (TTO) versus Yuta Wakimoto (JPN)
  • Denis Dmitriev (ROC) versus Jason Kenny (GBR)
  • Maximilian Levy (GER) versus Sam Webster (NZL)

Source Link

Leave a Reply