Playdate pre-order date confirmed, shipping late this year

0
89

Nintendo Life | Latest Updates

We kept an eye on Playdate, Panic’s cool little handheld. It’s a device that is sure to slip into a niche category as it has a tiny black and white screen, a crank, and an interesting approach to game distribution – “seasons” when downloads arrive every week. Last year’s events and challenges delayed it a bit, but now there are details on its upcoming pre-order window.

Pre-orders will go live on the official website on July 29th at 10 a.m. Pacific / 1 p.m. East / 6 p.m. UK / 7 p.m. CEST. Panic has outlined various details such as the first batch due in late 2021, a list of the countries it will be shipped to, and it’s worth noting that pre-orders are paid for immediately (but can be canceled and refunded).

Remarks:
• Pre-orders are not “sold out”.
• The first batch of ~ 20,000 playdates should be delivered at the end of 2021. More orders will be shipped in 2022.
• We will adjust production in 2022 depending on demand.
• Pre-orders require full payment but can be canceled at any time for a full refund.
– Playdate (@playdate) July 22, 2021

• All major credit cards are accepted.
• While we have worked hard to prepare for this release, something is likely to go wrong – so thank you in advance for your patience, understanding, and good humor.

In short: it actually happens !! We meet next week.

– Playdate (@playdate) July 22, 2021

In terms of pricing, pre-orders will open on the system itself for $ 179 (system + season 1 of 24 games) and for the cover for $ 29. The decent dock is coming “soon” and will therefore not be part of these first orders.

If you’re intrigued but still on the fence, our friends at Eurogamer gave the system a try and also tried four of its earliest games – be sure to check it out.

Are you trying to pre-order this next week?

Source Link

Leave a Reply