APSS presents the Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Leadership Award for the first time


Sleep Health | Sleep Review

Sleep medicine and sleep researcher Charlene Gamaldo, MD, of Johns Hopkins Medicine receives the first Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Leadership Award from Associated Professional Sleep Societies LLC (APSS), a joint initiative of the American Academy of Sleep Medicine and the Society for Sleep Research.

The award recognizes an individual who, through their work to increase diversity, equity, and inclusion of sleep medicine providers, or through the development of educational programs, research, or clinical work, has made significant contributions to sleep medicine or sleep and circadian science aims to reduce inequalities to reduce. The award ceremony took place on Thursday June 10th during the plenary session of Virtual SLEEP 2021.

“The APSS is committed to promoting a more diverse, equitable and inclusive sleeping space, and we are led by Dr. Gamaldo grateful to support these efforts at Johns Hopkins and in their professional networks, ”APSS President Andrew Krystal, MD, said in a publication. “Your efforts to diversify the sleeping area and close the gap in health inequalities will have lasting positive effects.”

Charlene Gamaldo, MD

Gamaldo is the medical director of the Johns Hopkins Center for Sleep and Wellness in Baltimore, Maryland and a professor of neurology for Johns Hopkins Medicine with joint appointments in psychiatry, nursing, anesthesiology, and public health. She has led joint research efforts and contributed to scientific publications to close the sleep health equity gap, improve our understanding of the relationship between social determinants of health and medical outcomes, and promote a more inclusive health team at all levels. Gamaldo’s research aims to better understand the relationship between sleep and diseases such as sickle cell anemia and HIV in predominantly black cohorts.

Gamaldo serves in DEI executive positions for Johns Hopkins and the American Academy of Neurology and is vice chair of the AAN Anti-Racism and Social Justice Task Force.

Photo 149813218 © Thamrongpat Theerathammakorn | Dreamstime.com

Source Link

Leave a Reply