Argentina possible opponents for the 2020 Olympics


""Olympic Games"" – Google News

The qualification phase is over and we now know which 16 teams will take part in the men’s soccer tournament at the Olympic Games in July and August.

If Argentina is to win its third gold medal in football at the Olympics, it will have to face 15 other teams next month. After Argentina, Brazil was the other South American country that qualified from the region. Host Japan deserves an automatic birth.

In addition to Argentina, Brazil and Japan, there are four teams from Europe, one from Oceania, three from Africa, three from Asia (including Australia in the region) and two from North America. Here are the 16 teams that will fight for gold.

Japan (hosts)
France (UEFA)
Germany (UEFA)
Romania (UEFA)
Spain (UEFA
New Zealand (OFC)
Egypt (CAF)
Ivory Coast (CAF)
South Africa (CAF)
Australia (AFC)
Saudi Arabia (AFC)
South Korea (AFC)
Argentina (CONMEBOL)
Honduras (CONCACAF)

We’ll find out which group Argentina will be drawn into on April 21st, with the draw taking place in Switzerland. There will be four groups of four and no group can contain more than one nation from a region. That would mean Argentina and Brazil cannot be drawn in the same group.

Argentina won their first gold medal in 2004 in Anthens, where they scored no goals. Four years later, a star-studded team would win the second gold medal. That team included Lionel Messi, Juan Roman Riquelme, Javier Mascherano, Sergio Aguero, Ezequiel Lavezzi, Pablo Zabaleta, Sergio Romero and a few others. Many of that team would play in the final of the 2014 World Cup.

Source Link

Leave a Reply